Germany Opens Borders to Georgian Citizens

Germany is expected to lift the coronavirus-related restrictions for Georgian citizens entering the country starting July 2. 

As reported by the German Interior Ministry, the gradual lifting of restrictions will apply to 11 non-EU countries, including Australia, Georgia, Japan, Canada, Montenegro, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China.

The German federal government made the above decision on July 1.

On July 1, the European Union Member States finally approved a list of 15 countries considered safe due to their epidemiological situation related to the new coronavirus, including Georgia.

The Council of the European Union said in a statement that the recommendation was not legally binding and that member states were responsible for its implementation.


01 July 2020 18:23