EU Approves Decision to Open Borders to 15 Countries, Including Georgia

The European Union Member States have finally approved a list of 15 countries considered safe due to their epidemiological situation related to the new coronavirus, including Georgia, reports.

The EU borders will be gradually reopened with the following third countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity).

The Council's statement notes that "travel restrictions should be lifted for countries listed in the recommendation, with this list being reviewed and, as the case may be, updated every two weeks".

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia David Zalkaliani responded to the decision of the Council of the European Union.

"We welcome the EU's decision to start lifting travel restrictions for residents of third countries, including Georgia, from 1 July, a decision which indicates the effectiveness of the Georgian government’s COVID-19 control strategy and builds up Georgia's image as one of the world's safest countries," the FM stated.

Prime Minister of Georgia Giorgi Gakharia also responded to the EU Council's decision to open the borders for 15 countries, including Georgia.

"Including Georgia on the list of so-called 'green countries' is another confirmation of our strategic partnership with the EU. It's an important achievement and acknowledgment of the success we had in the fight against the pandemic," he stated.

"On behalf of the Government of Georgia and all Georgians, I would like to thank the European Union for its recognition, trust and strategic partnership. We are currently in direct consultation with the member states to ensure the safe, gradual and coordinated movement of our citizens," the head of the government tweeted.

By Ana Dumbadze


Image: AFP

02 July 2020 18:49