Sweden, Italy Open Borders to Georgian Citizens

Following the German federal government's decision to open borders for Georgian citizens, Sweden and Italy have also announced the lifting coronavirus-related restrictions for the country. 

Sweden on Thursday announced new exceptions to an entry ban for non-EU travelers. 
From July 4th, people from the following countries will be allowed to travel freely to Sweden:
  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Canada
  • Morocco
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

"This means that people from these countries will be allowed to travel to Sweden for any purpose, including tourism. Sweden does not have any quarantine rules in place for foreign visitors and no proof of a negative coronavirus test is required. However, everyone is expected to follow coronavirus health and safety guidelines, such as social distancing and avoiding public transport, especially at busy times," The Local reports

Italy has now also opened its borders for 14 non-EU countries, including Georgia. However, on July 1, the Italian Ministry of Health announced that the country has chosen a cautious approach in light of restrictions and will be taking measures to monitor the health of tourists.

"Italy [initially] opted out of reopening its borders to non-member states on July 1 as recommended by the EU Council with health minister Roberto Speranzaarguing, saying the country was taking "the line of caution".

"The situation at the global level remains very complex. We must avoid that the sacrifices made by Italians in these months are in vain," he added," Euronews reports

By Ana Dumbadze 

Related Story: Sweden, Italy Open Borders to Georgian Citizens

03 July 2020 10:54