CEC Preliminary Results: GD Majoritarian Candidates Win Run-off Elections

Based on the CEC preliminary data, all 17 majoritarian candidates of the ruling Georgian Dream party have won the run-off elections.

Accordingly, the Georgian Dream will be represented in the next parliament by 90 deputies. Among the opposition parties and blocs, the seats will be distributed as follows:

United National Movement – 36 mandates;

European Georgia – 5 mandates;

Lelo, Strategy Builder, Alliance of Patriots and Girchi – 4-4 mandates;

Aleko Elisashvili - Citizens – 2 mandates;

Labor Party – 1 mandate.

In addition, the second round of mayoral elections was held in Kutaisi. CEC preliminary data shows that Ioseb Khakhaleishvili (Georgian Dream) has received 92.02% and Grigol Shushania (United National Movement – Power is in Unity) – 7.98%.

The first round of Georgia’s parliamentary elections was held on October 31. The opposition parties that obtained seats in the Parliament refuse to enter. A total of eight parties: United National Movement, Power is in Unity, European Georgia, Strategy  Builder, Lelo for Georgia, Alliance of Patriots of Georgia, Girchi, Citizens, Labor Party do not recognize the results of the first and second rounds of the elections. 

However, despite the opposition's refusal to run in the second round of majoritarian elections, their candidates have not been withdrawn from the election, as in accordance with the law, it is impossible to withdraw the candidacy from the second round of elections.

By Ana Dumbadze 

Related Story: Irakli Kobakhidze: As Expected, All 17 Candidates of GD Won Parliamentary Seats

22 November 2020 16:44