Archil Talakvadze Elected as the Speaker of the Parliament

The Parliament of the 10th convocation elected Archil Talakvadze as the Speaker of the Parliament with 86 votes.

Before the voting, Talakvadze addressed the MPs gathered in the session hall. After his speech, the majority did not exercise the right to ask questions and make statements.

Talakvadze is now chairing the plenary session.

Today, the Parliament of the 10th convocation also elected the Chairpersons of the Parliamentary Committees. Anri Okhanashvili will be the chairman of the Legal Issues Committee.

Mikheil Sarjveladze will head the Committee on Human Rights and Civil Integration; Irakli Beraia will be the chairman of the Defense and Security Committee; Irakli Kadagishvili will head the Committee on Procedural Issues and Rules; Deputies elected Sozar Subari as chairman of the Committee on Regional Policy and Self-Government; Irakli Kovzanadze will head the Finance and Budget Committee; Davit Songhulashvili will take over the Committee on Sectoral Economics and Economic Policy; Nino Tsilosani will chair the Committee on Agrarian Issues; The Committee on Environment and Natural Resources will be chaired by Maia Bitadze; The deputies elected Nikoloz Samkharadze as the Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee; Maka Bochorishvili will chair the Committee on European Integration; Beka Odisharia was elected Chairman of the Committee on Diaspora and Caucasus Issues; The health Committee will be headed by Dimitri Khundadze; Tea Tsulukiani will chair the Committee on Education, Science and Culture; Mikheil Kavelashvili will head the Sports and Youth Affairs Committee.

Prior to that, the Parliament recognized the powers of 150 deputies. The resolution was adopted by 87 votes. All those who were elected by the CEC in the October 31 elections are now full members of parliament.

From this moment on, the authority of the previous convocation of Parliament is terminated.

At the first sitting of the parliament of the 10th convocation, only the deputies of the Georgian Dream are represented, although the parliament has recognized the authority of all 150 members by a majority of votes. Opposition parties refused to take up their mandates obtained as a result of elections. 

The first sitting of the Georgian Parliament of 10th Convocation opened this afternoon.

By Ana Dumbadze 

Related Story: 1st Plenary Session of Newly Elected Parliament Opens

11 December 2020 16:43