All 51 Opposition MPs Formally Remain in Parliament

All 51 opposition MPs who requested the termination of their mandates remain members of parliament.

None of the members of the Georgian Dream voted for the termination of the mandates of the opposition MPs.

Currently, the boycotting opposition formally remains in parliament.

Irakli Kobakhidze, Chairman of the ruling party Georgian Dream, noted earlier today that with this move, the ruling team is giving the opposition "Yet another chance" to get involved in the democratic process and fulfill the requirements of their electorate. 

He added that based on the information obtained by Georgian Dream, up to 20 more opposition lawmakers are willing to enter Parliament; however, they refrain from doing so due to bullying by other members of the opposition. 

51 out of 60 opposition MPs have filed applications on the termination of their parliamentary mandates. 

The issue was to be discussed at today's session of the parliament, but the majority did not support the early termination of the mandates of the opposition MPs. 

Further, at today's session, the Parliament has elected Avtandil Enukidze as the Vice-Speaker from the opposition quota. He was supported by 82 votes for the post of Vice-speaker. His candidacy was presented to the parliament by the deputies from the 'Patriots Alliance' electoral list. Despite the party's boycott of the parliament, in January 2021 Enukidze entered the parliament together with the deputies Fridon Injia, Davit Zilfimiani and Gela Mikadze, replacing the first three numbers of the party's list Irma Inashvili, Giorgi Lomia and Gocha Tevdoradze, thus separating himself from the Patriots' Alliance and creating a new party, the 'European Socialists.'

By Ana Dumbadze 

Related Story: GD Majority Not To Support Early Termination of Opposition MPs Mandates

02 February 2021 15:21