Belgium Ratifies Georgia-EU Agreement

The Belgian Parliament ratified the Association Agreement (AA) signed in July between Georgia and the European Union (EU).

According to Davit Usupashvili, speaker of the Georgian parliament, the document was ratified today, but will be publicly released at the end of the year.

Georgia’s recently resigned Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili addressed the Belgian authorities to accelerate the process in the beginning of December, as Belgium was the last EU-member country to ratify the agreement.

Once the document of ratification is published by Belgium, the Association Agreement will take full effect.

The Association Agreement between the EU and Georgia, which was signed on June 27th, in Brussels, had to be ratified by 28 EU states.

24 December 2015 17:46