Visa-Free Regime for Georgia and Uruguay

Having secured a similar arrangement with Chile, Georgia has established a visa-free regime with another South American nation, Uruguay.

Citizens of both countries, Georgia and Uruguay, are available to benefit from visa-free travel already.

Ordinary passport holders of the both countries are allowed to stay in the relevant country up to 90 days within a 180 day period.

Accordingly, the agreement about visa-free travel between the two countries was signed on 24 June 2015, when Georgia’s Foreign Affairs Minister Tamar Beruchashvili paid her first official visit to Uruguay.

Meanwhile, during the official visit in Latin America, Beruchashvili signed similar agreements with the governments of Argentina and Chile.

Furthermore, a visa-free regime with Argentina is expected to be entered into force on September 5, 2015.

Georgia has recently amended visa rules, which came into force on September 1, 2014.

Under these amendments, Georgia is increasing the number of citizens from around the world who can visit the country visa-free. Citizens of 94 countries can already enter Georgia and stay for a maximum of 360 days without visas.

18 August 2015 14:52