Irish Squad Announced for Euro 2016 Qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia

Martin O'Neill has named a 37-man provisional squad for Republic of Ireland's Euro 2016 qualification matches against Gibraltar in Faro on September 4, and against Georgia in Dublin on September 7.

The Irish sit fourth in the table after an underwhelming campaign so far and O'Neill has expressed the critical importance of winning maximum points against the group's bottom two, Gibraltar and Georgia.

Aberdeen striker Adam Rooney is one of three uncapped players in the Irish squad which will be trimmed down to 23 shortly before the qualifiers.

Ireland beat Georgia 2-1 last September in Tbilisi courtesy of an Aiden McGeady double, while on Georgia's last visit to Dublin in 2011 the visitors were hammered 4-0.

Georgia, who sit in fifth place after taking just three points from six matches, are out of contention for Euro 2016 qualification.

Head coach Kakha Tskhadadze is expected to announce his squad for the game against Scotland in Tbilisi on September 4, and the aforementioned Ireland trip, later this week.

Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: David Forde, Shay Given, Keiren Westwood, Darren Randolph, Rob Elliot

Defenders: Richard Keogh, Marc Wilson, Seamus Coleman, Cyrus Christie, John O’Shea, Alex Pearce, Ciaran Clark, Paul McShane, James McCarthy, Stephen Ward, Greg Cunningham.

Midfielders: Jeff Hendrick, Harry Arter, Glenn Whelan, Eunan O’Kane, Aiden McGeady, James McClean, Alan Judge, Robbie Brady, Anthony Pilkington, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler, Wes Hoolahan.

Strikers: Robbie Keane, Shane Long, Daryl Murphy, Jon Walters, Kevin Doyle, Anthony Stokes, David McGoldrick, Adam Rooney, Simon Cox.

18 August 2015 19:18