French Senate Ratifies EU - Georgia Association Agreement

The French Senate has ratified the Association Agreement (AA) between Georgia and the European Union (EU).

According to the Embassy of Georgia to France, the document was ratified at the first reading through simplified procedures, without amendments today.

The Embassy also emphasized that prior to the first reading the draft agreement was approved by the National Assembly.

The Association Agreement between the EU and Georgia, which was signed on June 27, in Brussels, must be ratified by 28 EU states.

Following Austria ratifying the Georgia-EU agreement in July, France becomes the 25th country of 28 EU member states to ratify the agreement.

The document has not yet been ratified by Italy, Belgium and Greece.

29 October 2015 21:40