Open Letter Requesting a Visa-Free Regime for Georgia

Members of the European Parliament (MEP) published an open letter to the leaders of the European Union, requesting a visa-free regime for Georgia and Ukraine.

According to the Ukrainian Independent Information Agency (UNIAN), 31 MEPs have signed the letter addressed to Donald Tusk, President of the European Council, Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission Federica Mogherini, and profile EU Commissioners to grant the two countries a visa-free regime with the EU.

The letter was signed by Petras Austrevicius, Gabrielius Landsbergis, Jacek Saryusz-Wolski, Rebecca Harms, Andrej Plenkovic, and others. They highlighted that it would reinforce the determination of Georgia and Ukraine to continue on their path of reforms, facilitating a positive democratic change in the countries.

“We are convinced that unconditionally granting a visa-free regime to Ukraine -- as well as to Georgia, which has also seen considerable progress in the areas concerned -- would reflect the genuine European Union's commitment to the Eastern Partnership, which is all the more urgent given the enormous military, political, economic and propaganda pressure on these associated partners of the EU,” the letter reads.

The MEPs believe that due to joint efforts, the Ukrainian and Georgian people will become the beneficiaries of a visa-free regime next year.

05 December 2015 15:03