Georgian Parliament Approves New Cabinet of Ministers, Gov't Program

Parliament has approved the Cabinet of Ministers and the government program with 85 votes in favor and none against. 

Prime Minister Giorgi Gakharia and the ministerial candidates nominated by him were unanimously supported by the majority of the MPs, after which the national anthem was sung.

10 out of 11 members of the cabinet remain unchanged, the only new face in the Cabinet of Ministers is the Minister of Justice.

The Cabinet of Ministers is as follows:

Prime Minister - Giorgi Gakharia

Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure - Maia Tskitishvili

Minister of Justice - Gocha Lortkipanidze

Minister of Internal Affairs - Vakhtang Gomelauri

Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development - Natia Turnava

Minister of Foreign Affairs - Davit Zalkaliani

Minister of Finance - Ivane Machavariani

Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sports - Mikheil Chkhenkeli

Minister of Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Labor, Health and Social Affairs - Ekaterine Tikaradze

Minister of Environment Protection and Agriculture - Levan Davitashvili

Minister of Defense - Irakli Gharibashvili

State Minister for Reconciliation and Civic Equality - Tea Akhvlediani.

By Ana Dumbadze 

25 December 2020 11:33